Helpful Links

Established in 2010

Formed as a committee in 2010 to explore and assemble a program by Phillip Garrison, President Alabama Beekeepers Association.

February 2014 granted a Charter by the ABA Board of Directors to act as a Commission.

It has been instrumental for other states as a boiler-plate for their Master programs.

Enrollment-just under 200

The ABA Board of Directors holds complete oversight of the AMB Commission which consists of seven members.

Advisors to the Commission are Dr. James Tew and David Kelton.

The Beekeeping Specialist for the Alabama Cooperative Extension System, Auburn University, and Emeritus Professor, The Ohio State University. He has conducted applied research on honey bees and honey bee behavior - specifically pollination behavior.

Dr. James Tew

ABA President Bill Evans

David id the owner operator of Lookout Mountain Bee and Honey Farm in Gadsden, Alabama.  He conducts several classes during the year for beginning beekeepers and classes on queen rearing. He is also the state representative to the ABF.

ABA President, a 25 year veteran beekeeper. Chairs the ABA Board of Directors and has the oversight of the AMB Commission. Bill is the owner operator of Rose Hill Bee Farm.

Alabama Master Beekeepers Dr. J.E. Tew David Kelton Bill Evans

AMB Director Gerry Whitaker

Gerry Whitaker

AMB Chairman, a 26 year beekeeper. Chairs the AMB Commission and is the Vice-President of the ABA. Owner operator of Beeginnings Bee and Honey Farm.


Advisor David Kelton